self-publishing · writing

Self-publishing update

At the moment, I only have one small novella out. It’s around 20,000 words. I published it towards the end of January in 2013. It surprised me by doing pretty well (by my standards) for the first few months, but then of course I made the mistake of not following it up with anything, and so sales died down to a small trickle, and I get a handful or two a month.

  • January 2013 – 13
  • February – 60
  • March- 110
  • April – 117
  • May – 40
  • June – 11
  • July – 11
  • August – 23
  • September – 6
  • October – 2
  • November – 4
  • December – 4
  • January 2014 – 6
  • February – 6
  • March – 11
  • April – 9
  • May – 7
  • June – 6

For a Grand Total of 446. During the first three months I was also enrolled in KDP Select and gave away around 2500 copies.

I’d really like to make a go of this though, so I’m going to get a lot more serious about the whole gig. While it’s nice getting some coffee money from this, I want to turn it into a serious venture.

As I said in my previous post, I’m about 14k into a new novel. I’m planning on putting this one out under a pen name, and follow it with a few more, and release on a two month schedule.

I’ll update each Sunday on my progress!

 

 

Leave a Reply

