education · student-teacher · studying · university

Two weeks down!

Two weeks down! Thirteen to go (before I’m a qualified teacher)!

In fifteen weeks time, I will qualify for the Postgraduate Diploma of Teaching. A bit more full on than your old fashioned Dip.Ed., but not yet a Masters of Teaching.

Masters of Teaching is what I’m enrolled in. After the first overloaded year where they cram 3 semesters worth of work into 2, we can technically teach though.

I know a lot of my fellow student-teachers will be out applying for jobs in the next few months.

At the moment I am not planning to though.

I’m going to take next year and finish the Masters part of the qualification. 4 more subjects. Two of them are research based, the other two are electives. I’m not sure yet whether I will try to do them all in one semester, or give myself a bit of a breather and space them out over the year. If I space them out, I’d also have time to work a bit (CRT work, most likely). And also time to keep chipping away at my fiction WIPs.

Anyhoo, I have a few months left before I need to decide.

My History and English method subjects are shaping up to being very useful and interesting this semester. English is new to me as a teaching method, so I didn’t really know what to expect. My history lecturer/tutor is new – my tutor last semester was absolutely fantastic. There was almost a riot when he told us his contract with the university had been cancelled (they let go hundreds of casual tutors), and that he wouldn’t be coming back next semester, but his replacement is definitely doing a fantastic job of filling his large shoes. I love my passionate history teachers! Both such lovely men; I constantly find myself wishing I’d been lucky enough to have them as teachers in high school, and grateful that they’re teaching and influencing the new generation of history teachers. There is hope.

My Humanities Additional class still seems rather vague and I’m still not entirely sure what the point of it is.

The Assessment class is dry, but I can see how useful it will be. And they actually practice what they preach which is refreshing. I don’t know how many times last semester we got told how important timely feedback is important to students, only to be left waiting months and months for our own assignments to be returned to us! I still don’t have one of my assignments back from last semester, and beginning to think I won’t get it back at all (the tutor was moved to another department).

The ICT (Information and Communications Technology) class is a bit of a joke. My tutor is absolutely lovely… but oh my. The content. I know that they’re philosophically against streaming students but they also go on and on about catering to students’ Zone of Proximal Development, and I assure you that these ICT classes are so very very VERY below my ZPD that I’m falling asleep.

Week 1 we spent two hours making a blog.

A blog.

As you can see from that fact I’m writing this post, I know how to make a blog. I’ve been blogging on various platforms for over a decade. Most people in my class either have their own blogs already, or at least are technologically literate enough that if they wanted to make a blog, they could.

Out of the 300-400 (not sure exactly what we’re down to at the moment) students in my course, I know that there are a few of them who are no good at all with computers and anything past emailing or writing an essay in Word. Perhaps they could have those people in this class.

For the rest of us, something a little more challenging and useful would be nice.

This week we spent two hours making mindmaps with Inspiration. And apparently we’re going to keep working on them next week. I used similar software previously at my old job, and I find the concept extremely simple (am I being condescending? Do we really need to spend two weeks on this?!) so needless to say I finished the task extremely quickly and bored out of my brains.

I really hope the class improves. It has the potential to be useful. I’d love to explore educational apps that we can use in the classroom that I probably haven’t been exposed to. Not… blogs and mindmaps…

Leave a Reply

