education · studying

Writing in Public Update #5

Wow, I dropped the bundle here, quickly!

I have been writing a lot the past couple of weeks, but it hasn’t been on the novella, it’s all been university focused.

Lets see:

  • 1600 word analysis
  • 2600 word speech
  • 1000 word presentation
  • 1400 word essay
  • Two days back at my placement school

I’ve only to 3.5 weeks left of this semester, and then it’s blessed, blessed freedom. Next year I’ll only be at uni part-time, and I anticipate my work load being MUCH more manageable. This year I’ve had 6 subjects per semester, next year it will only be 2… 4 essays/assignments per semester instead of the 20 (no joke) I’ve had this semester.

Upcoming in the next 3.5 weeks is:

  • 1 quiz
  • 1600 word essay on ICT
  • 2 presentations (History & Hums)
  • 1500 word essay (Hums)
  • 2600 word learning inquiry report (Hums)
  • 1400 word analysis of practice (History)
  • 2000 word essay (English Teaching Method)
  • 1200 reflective report (Assessment)

I think that’s it?

Anyway. Busy few weeks. I don’t really anticipate a lot of fiction writing getting done while I have all of this to get through, but I’ll try to get some done.

I don’t seem to do very well at trying to snatch  5 – 10 free minutes and getting even 100 words down. I need to sit down and have a good solid few hours ahead of me to sink into the story, without the guilt of “you really should be working on that essay that’s due tonight/tomorrow/yesterday” hanging over my head.

In publishing news, I’m only 9 sales off hitting the 500 sold milestone! So, with the ~2000 odd copies I gave away during freebie runs early last year, there are around 2500 copies of my stories out there.

2 thoughts on “Writing in Public Update #5

  1. You poor thing. Totally inundated with assignments. Let me know if I can help out with anything

    Congratulations on that super close milestone! Woop woop!

    1. Thanks, Katie!

      I tried farming out my essays to a few people “Hey, if we all do one each, then I’ll be able to come out and play!”

      But no one seemed to want to take me up on it…

Leave a Reply

