Uncategorized

The waiting game is on.

I’m trying to be patient.

The manuscript is finished. It came in at a bit over 52,000 words. I really struggled with the ending, but I think I settled on something that works. I hope.

My beta-reader has read it, and gave me some good advice. It’s now off with the editor. I’m not sure how long it will be until I get it back. That’s where the patience comes in. She warned me she’s rather busy at the moment, so I’m not expecting a speedy turn-around. I would really like to get the damn book published before the end of the month though.

I say damn book, because it’s way overdue.

I literally danced in the shower after I sent it off. It felt so good. Such a natural high, it made me want to finish more stories 🙂

And now I’m off to my first teaching interview. I’m pretty nervous. I’m not expecting it to go very well. I don’t feel all that prepared (I only found out about the job on Monday, got the call for the interview on Tuesday, and now it’s Wednesday and I’m off to the interview, and if I get the job, there’s a possibility I’ll be starting tomorrow!)

I’m trying to tell myself that it’s just good practise. I have never been to a teaching interview before (I feel like the interview with the agency for relief work doesn’t really count), and have been a bit scarred off by anecdotes from teacher friends. This is just a short-term contract though, so I’m not sure quite how formal it will be – whether it will be a 3 member panel where I’m grilled about my teaching philosophy, or it will be a bit more casual. I’m hoping for the latter haha.

Now if only the new book takes off and earns me enough money so that I don’t need to go to any more teaching interviews. Haha. A girl can dream.

I

Leave a Reply

