Amazon · Money · self-publishing

It’s live!

I was very excited to get my draft back last Monday. I’m glad I waited, as frustrating as waiting 5 extra weeks was – my editor spotted a lot of little things that my beta readers and I over-looked – mainly to do with Australianisms creeping into the speech of Canadian characters. There were also a few spots where she suggested changes/additions/expansions and I think the story works better overall thanks to her suggestions.

The book has been up on Amazon for almost a week now. I’m pretty happy with it’s progress so far. 28 sales in the past 6 days (and only about 5 of them are from people I know!) and it’s also given a little boost to the old novella, which has had 10 sales since the new book went live – which is up from 1 for the rest of the month!

I haven’t emailed my mailing list yet – I’m waiting for the Look Inside feature to become active. And also, I’m being lazy. My list is pretty small so I guess I’m not that motivated, but I will get around to it. That should happen in the next 24 hours or so. I don’t remember having to wait this long with the first book, but that was two and a half years ago, and Amazon says it takes up to a week now.

I got such a buzz from publishing again. I seriously can’t have another 2.5 year gap between the next one! This is what I want to do. I love writing stories, and I love the numbers side of it too – checking my sales, updating my spread sheets… I have a lot of spread sheets, it’s a little bit concerning heh.

I really should be planning for my lessons tomorrow, or working on that essay for uni that’s due soon… but I keep coming back to publishing.

This is what I want to do. Not teaching. Not technical writing. Not office work.

I’ve made about US$63 this past week. Now to make ten times as much… and then I might be able to start thinking about giving up the day job. Oh, who am I kidding. I’m already thinking about giving up the day job. Thankfully sensibility is still reigning, for the sake of the roof over my head.

Leave a Reply

