Uncategorized

First month

It’s been almost a month since I hit the Publish button on Amazon.

Sales and borrows have been chugging along at a respectable rate for an unknown like me. Since the book went live, I’ve sold 85 copies of the two books combined – 62 of those being the new book. That’s up from selling around 2 on a bad month up to 20 on a good month.

The dreaded thirty day cliff is fast approaching though, so I have no idea how it will go after that. My data from the first book is quite out-dated. The market has changed a lot since early 2013. Months 2 and 3 were my best back then.

Here’s my sales and borrows/pages read charts. Before the new book was released, both of these were pretty flat, particularly the pages read.

Screen Shot 2015-09-22 at 9.44.17 am Screen Shot 2015-09-22 at 9.44.29 am

One thing is clear though- if I want to make this my career, my full-time career and not just a hobby that I think about a lot, I need to have a lot more content available. These two novellas/novels aren’t ever going to earn me more than pocket money, and maybe pay a few small bills.

I don’t even know what to concentrate on next.

I have a bit of free time over the next two weeks (in between writing essays/research proposals and unit plans for my Masters degree, marking essays for school, and planning lessons for when school goes back in October) and I’m leaning towards finishing a book that I’ve been fiddling with for about two years now. I’m not in love with it at all anymore though, but it’s the closest one to completion. It probably only needs another 10,000-15,000 words. Totally do-able. A big part of me just wants it done and over and out there. I don’t really think it will be a big seller, but I’m starting to realise that the path to this self-sustainable career as an author will probably look more like a lot of books chugging along rather than one or two making me lots of money.

I haven’t received any written reviews yet, which is a bit disappointing. Three people have left stars on Goodreads, but I’ve had nothing on Amazon, which sucks for promotion. Most sites require you to have reviews.

I’m holding a Countdown sale for the new book in a few days (you need to wait 30 days to hold your first one) and simultaneously running a free promo for the first book. Hopefully that will give it a bit of a boost. I’ve advertised the Countdown with bknights. I’ve had good results from them before (in the range of 10-20 extra sales), so hopefully that pulls through, and hopefully get a couple of reviews out of it!

Time to focus on the next book. (Although Year 9’s would say time to focus on marking their essays. TLB would say time to focus on cleaning the house and finally finish unpacking. Garden says time to focus on the garden.)

One thought on “First month

  1. Glad to hear sales have been ticking over. Here’s hoping they pick up ASAP so you can focus all your efforts on churning out more writing. Can’t wait for the follow up.

Leave a Reply

