self-publishing · word counts · writing

Weekly check-in #1

Seeing as I’ve decided that 2016 will be my Writing Year, I thought it might be a good idea to check in weekly to see how things are progressing, on both the writing front and the sales front.

(Hopefully just the start of many Writing Years, but the first when I focus my energy and time on seriously turning this into a full-time venture and not just trying to squeeze it in between writing essays, teaching, or writing technical documents.)

So, this week has been okay. I have stuck to my resolution of writing every day, however I have found it a hard muscle to re-stretch, and I didn’t hit my 1000 word target every day.

Words: 
Jan 1:  315
Jan 2:  244
Jan 3:  1075
Jan 4:  628
Jan 5:  146
Jan 6:  1439
Jan 7: 1001

Total new words for the week: 4848
Total new words for the month: 4848
Total WIP word count: 27,233

Something interesting I noticed, was that once I hit my 1000 word quota (on the 3 days that I did) I slacked off. So maybe I shouldn’t have quotas. I don’t know.

Sales: No actual sales, but I did get the equivalent of 6 full reads on Kindle Unlimited (1408 pages read). Because of the way KU works (they change the exact amount paid per page read every month), I don’t know exactly how much that will earn me until the middle of next month, but if I take a conservative $0.045 per page to estimate, then it’s around $6.34 for the week. I will find out next week how much I made in December. It was a pretty slow month – Book Report estimates around $13-14.

So, I need about 100 times that much to start replacing a liveable wage haha.

As you can see, I have a long way to go.

Join me on my journey 🙂

3 thoughts on “Weekly check-in #1

  1. Oh wow! I didn’t know there was a way for Kindle to track your pages read and send to the author. There you go… you do learn something new every day!

    1. Only if you’ve subscribed to Kindle Unlimited (which you can’t in Australia yet), and only if the book is actually enrolled in KU. And the author doesn’t see how many pages a particular reader has read (which would be actually really interesting! It would be awesome (well, not awesome) to know that 90% of people stopped reading your book at the 1/3 mark, so then you could go and look at it and work out why…)

      1. That’s so fascinating! It would never have occurred to me that the internet is tracking how slack/not slack I am at finishing my reading. It’s a worry that the internet knows so much about how we work.

Leave a Reply

