Amazon · Career · CRT · gardening · organic · self-publishing · Teaching · Uncategorized · writing

One day of relief teaching = 120 sales.

Writing is definitely my passion, and what I want to do with the rest of my life for a living, but obviously I’m not there yet (just have a squizz at the Show Me the Money tab above!).  Not even close to there. Well, not unless I move to somewhere with an extremely low cost of living where $25/month can support you!

This kind of spills into my everyday thinking, in a kinda weird way. At the moment I’m working as a relief teacher to pay the bills. I also sometimes do surveys for a market research company than pay between $1.50-$6/survey.

Indie author me thinks, oh, that survey. That’s like 3 sales! I haven’t even had any this week yet! Better do the damn survey…

Or when waking up very early in the morning to do a CRT day (relief teaching). That pays $242 here. That’s about 120 sales at $2.99. (Well, I suppose less if you take the exchange rate into consideration…) I’m not even close to making that per month, so off I go to a random school for 6 hours to babysit/behaviour manage/very occasionally teach high school kids.

I still live like a broke ass uni student, so I only really need to work 4/5 days a month to pay my bills. Although I do owe my Mum a bit of money, so really need to pay her back sooner rather than later. And my credit card bill is higher than I’d like. Need to get rid of that. So I keep on calculating how many sales I’d need to equal what I’m doing.

I am so looking forward to the day when my income from writing actually makes this a feasible thing to do, other than a pipe dream.

Will I ever get there?

I’m making dinner at the moment. I can’t decide whether I feel more hipster or old fashioned. Just making a simple pasta sauce, but I either grew all the ingredients or got it off someone who grew it themselves. Tomato, garlic, onion, basil. Well, I didn’t grow the pepper or collect the salt or grow the grapes for the red wine I splashed in. And I didn’t make the pasta from scratch.

SO maybe I’m just a wannabe old-fashioned hipster who doesn’t ride enough bikes or wear big enough glasses.

(It’s still satisfying, cooking like this. Hopefully eating like this is just as satisfying…)

 

2 thoughts on “One day of relief teaching = 120 sales.

  1. Hang in there!!!! We all suffer for our art from time to time. I feel like I have banged my head against a brick wall for the last three weeks. As an indie author you are totally hipster with your minimal take on gourmet pasta. Letting the flavours speak for themselves. 🙂

    You could also be Italian! My Italian PhD friend would eat a huge bowl of very plain looking pasta for lunch each day. Her ingredients ranged from pasta with olive oil, to the occasional pasta with olive oil, basil and crushed tomatoes. She insisted all pasta was best served with minimal ingredients and fresh flavours. Might be an authentic Italian thing or could have just been a poor-PhD-student thing.

    1. Hahahaha. Or maybe just a skimpy thing.

      I remember being super disappointed as an impressionable 13 or 14 year old, going to my ….um I don’t know what the English word is???? My Italian aunt-by-marriage’s mother. Anyway. We went to her house for dinner and I was expecting the world in my plate. AUTHENTIC ITALIAN ZOMG! But… it was just a simple tomato sauce. I have to admit I was disappointed.

      In hindsight, I do not know if i was disappointed because it was bland (after knowing my aunt for 17 years no, I can not dismiss this – unfortunately my Italian aunt is the worst, laziest cook in the family… I got a dud haha…) or if I just had no idea what a good simple pasta tasted like (highly probable. At this stage of my life I was probably asking where the mince and Dolmio was).

Leave a Reply

