Career · self-publishing · word counts · writing

Project update

We’re already a third of the way into June, how did that happen?!

I’ve been getting back into the grove of writing the past week or so, after a month or more of barely writing anything and flittering around between different projects.

I did get a lot of planning and notes down on a few different novels, which I’m sure will come in handy in the future. Hopefully.

I might have acted a bit prematurely, seeing as the book isn’t even close to being finished, but there’s nothing like a firm deadline to give me the kick in the pants I need, and so I set up another pre-order. I definitely don’t want to be cutting it as fine as my previous book, but I really want/need to get another book out there, so yah!

It’s another book for the new (secret) pen name. A light-hearted contemporary book. Probably won’t sell very much, but to be honest I feel like I still need more practise/confidence before I tackle any of the books of my heart. You know, those books you’ve had simmering in your mind for years and years, whose ideas and characters won’t leave you alone. I want to do them justice, and I feel like I need to sharpen my writing chops first.

So, the current aim is to write this one quickly, get it edited, and release it to the world to see if it has any wings. Presently only about 7k words in, out of 60k, but if I can stick to writing between 2-4k words a day, then I’ll have it done before the end of the month.

Writing under this secret pen name takes a lot of the pressure I was feeling off. Pressure that I think was crippling me a bit. So, for the time being, I might just keep on writing under these pen names until I feel confident enough to start putting work out under my own name again…

Got 3600 words done yesterday, which is my best day in a long time. Let’s see if I can beat it today!

Tally ho!

Leave a comment