Amazon · Career · self-publishing · Teaching · The Lovely Boyfriend

End of Year Catch-up!

Well, hello there! It’s been a little while…

2016 is almost over, so it feels timely to check-in.

Since I last posted (at the beginning of August, oops), I’ve been pretty busy. I taught full-time at a rural school for two months. That was a good experience, but also exhausting. I was very relieved once the holidays finally came around!

I had some exciting personal developments while I was down there – The Lovely Boyfriend became The Lovely Fiancé! No wedding plans or dates set or anything yet, we’re just enjoying being engaged for the time being. 🙂

I didn’t get nearly as much writing done as I’d hoped I would. I barely wrote anything at all while I was teaching. I had a few productive weeks over the school holidays after I finished my contract, but then the writing got put on the back-burner a bit (well, a lot) while my Lovely Parents-in-Law came to visit from Canada and stayed for a month! It was a fun month, filled with road trips, wine, yummy food, laughter, sight-seeing, and good times, but yeah… having house guests that I had to entertain for a month was not very conducive to writing!

My goals (dreams) earlier in the year were to hit the $1000 a month in earnings from my books, but unfortunately I’m not even close. I wanted to finish more books as well. As it stands, I finished and published two books in 2016 (reasonably certain I won’t finish another one in the next 10 days!). That’s less than I wanted, but I suppose I also shouldn’t turn my nose up at it.

Both books went out under a new pen-name. The first book surprised me and sold pretty well for a prawn like me, right out the gate. I think it sold over 100 in the first week which felt pretty good! But sales dwindled, and I didn’t really do anything to help that (no advertising). As of this very minute, it has sold 227 copies.

My second book of the year, under the same pen-name was a total flop. It’s been out for about 2 months now and has sold all of 6 copies. Yeah! You read that right! SIX! Total and utter flop. I played around with the cover and blurb, but it didn’t seem to matter much. It’s my first total flop (well, I guess a total flop would be just 1 sale – to me). For whatever reason, this book hasn’t resonated at all, so I’m just going to chalk it up to a learning experience and move on.

I have sold more books than last year, which is good, but not by any leaps or bounds. Last year’s total was 278, this year (at the moment, there’s still 11 days left of the year, think positive!) I’m at 354. Still not quite as good as my first year (2013) where I sold 401…

I’ll do a more detailed numbers post early in January when I have the final figures.

But for now, my main aim is to get back into the grove of creating, of finding that irresistible flow that sucks you in and along…

Leave a Reply

