Amazon · Career · CRT · gardening · self-publishing · Teaching · word counts · writing

March Reflections

I did it! I hit the triple figures! Just… hehehe. Didn’t quite make it on the word count, sigh. More on that further down.

March stats: 
Words written: 24,658
Days of 1000+ words: 15
Days of between 1-999 words: 7
Days of zero words: 9
CRT (teaching) days: 8
Books sold: 85
Money made: Approx. $105-112!

I hit a funny milestone on March 27th – I sold as many copies of my first two books so far this year as I did in the entirety of 2016! 56 copies of Book 1 and 68 copies of Book 2! That was kinda cool to realise! Onwards and upwards!

I think I jinxed myself after that last post. The word count went way down. I need to come up with some better strategies for when I get stuck in a story. Perhaps working on something else? I’m not sure. I need to figure something out though.

My goals for March were:

  • 31,000 words or more: Sigh. Not quite. 24,658 new fiction words for the month. Best month I’ve had since I started recording my word counts, but I can do better!
  • Finish the current WIP and publish it. No. I’m currently at 55,000 words and the end isn’t even in sight. I’m not even sure HOW it’s going to end at the moment (proabably a big reason for the stalling word count in the second half of the month…) I do need to finish this off this month though!
  • Make over $100. YES! OMG YES!!!
  • Write every day. Sigh. Still had nine days where I didn’t write a single word. How to get around this? Do I need better self-bribery?! I always intend to write every day…
Writing: 

I’ve signed up for Camp Nanowrimo this month. I’ve set myself the target of 60,000 words, which is rather ambitious of me due to the fact that I’ve never written than much in a month before, and never even won normal Nanowrimo before! For those of you who are wondering what the hell Nanowrimo is, it’s National Novel Writing Month and is held in November every year. The goal is to write 50,000 words during the month. I’ve signed up for it nearly every year, but, as I said, I’ve never won. November is usually a very busy time of year for me (over the years I’ve had piles of uni assignments, overseas trips, foreign visitors staying at our house, taken on new teaching jobs complete with 100 essays to mark… yeah, it’s usually a busy time of year!) and while I always go into it with good intentions, I have always been side-tracked/exhausted by whatever else has been going on.

Camp Nano is a little different. You set your own goal. It could be as low as 10,000 words, or it could be as high as 140,000 like one of my cabin mates! Anyway, we’ll see how I go. I need to write 2000 words a day on average to hit my goal.

Teaching: 

It’s school holidays here for the first two weeks of April, so I should have plenty of time to get stuck into it. I’d really like to get over half of my words done during the holidays, because who knows what will be going on or how busy I will be once school goes back. Term 2 is generally busier than Term 1 on the CRT front, and I’m also (probably) going to apply for a full-time job at a nearby school… I’m rather torn about this decision, because I know how exhausting it will be and how much I’ll start dreading Monday’s again, but I’m also heartily sick of not having enough money. The job is until the end of the year, and I’d get paid over the summer holidays as well, which would be very nice (no holiday pay for CRTs!) and I would be able to pay off all my debts (credit card and some money I owe my mother), start going 50-50 on everything again with The Lovely Fiancé (we go 50-50 on rent and bills, but he’s been paying 95% of the time we do anything social for the last year or so which is a bit grating on my pride!), and still end off the year with $10-15k in the bank. That would be a nice feeling! But anyhoo, I probably won’t get it, but yeah. We’ll see…

Gardening: 
The tomatoes were late, but they finally started producing. I didn’t get nearly as many as I did last year though, even though I had more plants! A few of the plants didn’t really produce much at all… I think part of the reason is my soil is so rubbish. If we were staying here long-term then I would put a lot of effort into raising the quality of the soil, but as it is, I’m not even sure if we’ll be here in a month or two, so I haven’t done much other than use a bit of fertiliser. The zucchini experiment was not very successful. Most of my plants got that horrible powdery mildew that attacked my pumpkins last year, and a nest of some sort of weird ants killed another one. I did get a few growing on the one surviving plant, but I’m glad I’m not feeding my family solely on the produce from my garden!

The corn was a bust too – but I think that was my fault for where I planted them. The capsicum was good, although perhaps a bit too shady – only got a few fruit on the main bushes. The banana peppers went nuts though! The cucumber was a disappointment. Only got one grow to maturity! Celery is still growing away, it seems to be doing well.

Had much better luck with the chillies. They are growing really well and producing a lot of fruit. The Lovely Fiancé is enjoying having his private supply of jalapeños! The habaneros won’t be ready for a little while, but seem to be growing well.

We didn’t get to eat many of the plums or peaches this year unfortunately – mixture of possums raiding the trees and grubs invading the fruit.

Apart from the crappy soil, half the yard is shaded by a couple of big trees, so that limits things a little. Time to start getting my winter crops ready but I’m not sure if we’re going to be here!

Goals for April: 

  • Write every day.
  • Write 60k words
  • FINISH THE DAMN WIP!
  • Apply for that job…
2 thoughts on “March Reflections

  1. Been enjoying spying on your garden hauls on social media. It looks delicious.

    The Camp Nano is a clever idea. It’s a shame it can’t be an actual writers retreat too. Ha ha ha. It would be lovely to just escape for a while and get stuck into it.

    If you ever need an actual retreat let me know and you can come and hide up here at my place. I won’t tell anyone where you are.

Leave a Reply

